← Back to all articles

This tech doc shows how to create a simple file system backup on a server OS (Windows and Linux)

The links to your software downloads will be in your Welcome email. You can contact us at support@bobcloud.net

1. Download and install the client software for Windows and Linux

If you are an MSP reselling our service to your clients, you can create your customer backup accounts and download all client software from https://portal.bobcloud.net/

2. Logging in to the client

After the installation finishes, the software will prompt you for a login.

Enter the login details of the account you created in the portal.

Login screen

We recommend that you do not tick the save password box. This will prevent someone else from automatically logging in to your account, modifying your settings, or deleting your backup sets and data.

The software will connect to the backup cluster after 3 - 5 seconds.

3. The software console

The Trial Version text reminds you that you have a 30-day refund option.

Software console showing Trial Version

4. Create your first backup set

  1. Click the Backup Sets tile

    Backup Sets tile

  2. Add a new backup set

    Add a new backup set

  3. Choose the File Backup option and rename the backup set if necessary.

    File Backup option

  4. Select the data you want to back up

    The backup set is pre-configured to back up your data. You can deselect this and browse your device to select your source data.

    Selecting the backup source

    After clicking “I would like to choose the files to back up,” the Windows navigation screen will open, and you can select the files and folders you want to back up.

  5. Backup Schedule

    After confirming your backup source, the following screen displays the schedule. Each backup set is configured to run at 20:00, but you can change this.

    Backup schedule screen

  6. Select where you want your backed-up data stored

    The Destination screen will show our default storage location. If you want us to store your data, you can keep it or remove it and add your storage destination.

    Destination screen

    Click Add to store the data on this backup set to multiple destinations.

    If you want to remove our storage destination, double-click on it and then click Delete this storage destination at the bottom left of the screen.

    Delete this storage destination

  7. Backup Set Encryption

    The final screen is probably the most important because it contains your encryption password. The system is configured to use the same encryption password you used when you created this backup account (User password).

    We recommend you don’t change this. If you change the encryption password, you must store it offline, where you can retrieve it afterwards. Remember, you might not need to restore your data for years!

    Encryption settings

    You can also choose Custom and enter your password.

    Custom encryption password

    Note: Whatever option you select, your encryption password will never be transmitted to us. We can never recover or reset it; if you lose it, you cannot restore your data.

  8. Click the backup button.