What Happens When I Delete iCloud Backup
As an iPhone user, you may encounter a scenario where your device’s storage is full.
What Happens When I Delete iCloud Backup?
Your data on your iPhone, iPad or any other iOS device is safe if you are not deleting data from them. If you delete the iCloud backup, you will lose all the data on your iCloud backup, such as pictures, apps, videos or any other data you have.
What Would You Lose If You Delete iCloud Backup?
What happens when I delete my iCloud backup? You lose all the data related to apps, videos and messages, photos and other vital data stored on your iCloud backup.
iPhone, iPad, and other iOS devices
- Turn on your iOS device. Go into Settings, tap on your Apple ID, and then click on iCloud.
- Tap on Manage Account Storage or Manage Storage, depending on your iOS version, then tap on Backups.
- Tap on the device name whose backup you want to delete.
- Tap on Delete Backup and then Turn Off & Delete.
For Mac computers
- Click the Apple menu and go to System Settings/System Preferences
- Click on your Apple ID and then on iCloud.
- Click on Manage and go to Backups.
- Select any device backups you want to delete. Once you have chosen, click the backup and select Delete at the bottom of the backup data. Click on Delete again if you get a prompt.
With this, you can delete your iCloud backup successfully using your Mac computer.
For Windows PC
If you are on your Windows PC and don’t want to switch to a different device for deleting iCloud backup, then you may do the following:
- Download iCloud and open it on your Windows PC
- Click on Storage.
- Click on Backup.
- Select any one of the backups you see and click on Delete once you have made your choice.
- Click on Delete again for confirmation.
With this, you will have deleted your iCloud backup on your Windows PC.
What happens when I delete iCloud backup? You only lose iOS data on your iCloud storage, and your iPhone storage remains unchanged. Keeping multiple copies of your backup in future cases is a good idea.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Happens if I Delete a Backup from an Old Phone
If you delete a backup from an old phone, you won’t be able to transfer its data to your new iPhone or any other iOS device by using iCloud. Making a backup copy on a different storage unit can be crucial before deleting the iCloud backup.
Can I Delete iCloud Backup and Backup again?
While iCloud turns off when you delete a backup, you may turn it on again in the settings menu to make a backup again. However, you won’t be able to recover the previously deleted backup data.
- How to Backup Microsoft 365 Exchange email, SharePoint and OneDrive in 2023
- 4 Easy Ways To Recover Unsaved Or Deleted Word Documents in 2023
- How to backup WhatsApp data to Google Drive in 2023: 9 Simple Steps
- 5 Ways to Fix WhatsApp Backup Stuck Issue in 2023
- What is a Secondary Storage? Types, Purposes, and Examples